Early Voting sign

Early voting for the Nov. 6 primary election begins Tuesday, Oct. 23, with the ballot including races for secretary of state, 5th congressional district, the Second Circuit Court of Appeal, the district court and the local school boards.

Early voting concludes Oct. 30,

Voters can cast their early votes in at the Ouachita Parish Health Unit building on DeSiard Street in Monroe from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. for each day of early voting, except on Sunday.

Early voting at the West Ouachita Senior Center in West Monroe will be limited to the following days: Oct. 26, Oct. 27, Oct. 29, and Oct. 30.

The candidates campaigning for Secretary of State include interim secretary Kyle Ardoin, Heather Cloud, “Gwen” Collins-Greenup, A.G. Crowe, “Rick” Edmonds, Renee Fontenot Free, Thomas Kennedy III, Matthew “Matt” Moreau, and state Rep. Julie Stokes.

U.S. Rep. Ralph Abraham faces three challengers in the 5th Congressional District race: Billy Burkette, Jesse Carlton Fleenor, and Kyle Randol.

Second Circuit Court of Appeal Judge James “Jimbo” Stephens is seeking re-election and drew one opponent: Fourth Judicial District Court Judge Sharon Marchman.

Meanwhile, Monroe City Court Judge Aisha Clark and state Rep. Marcus Hunter are each campaigning for the Division G seat at Fourth Judicial District Court.

There are three races for districts at the Ouachita Parish School Board.

Candidates for District B include current board member Scott Robinson and former West Monroe High School principal Shere May.

Candidates for District C include William “Bubba” Miller and Scotty Waggoner.

Candidates for District E include Eric Bowie Sr. and board member John L. Russell.

There are five races for seats on the Monroe City School Board.

For District 1, School Board member Vickie Dayton is seeking re-election and faces one opponent: Rick Saulsberry.

For District 4, School Board member Daryll Berry faces one opponent: Don Hokins.

For District 5, three candidates are campaigning, including Betty Ward Cooper, Karen Gant, and Anna Reed.

For District 6, School Board member Brandon “BJ” Johnson faces three opponents: Tharris Bishop, Verbon Muhammad Sr., and Jesse Smith.

For District 7, School Board member Brenda Shelling faces two opponents: Sharon Neal and Turner Saulsberry.

The ballot also will include several constitutional amendments available for voters' consideration. The constitutional amendments include prohibiting a felon from public office, unanimous jury for non-capital felonies, permit donations from political subdivisions, transportation trust fund, extending eligibility for tax exemptions, and reappraisal of residential property. A voters' guide to the constitutional amendments can be found in this week's The Ouachita Citizen.

The deadline to request an absentee by mail ballot is Nov. 2 by 4:30 p.m. Voters can request an absentee by mail ballot online through the Voter Portal or in writing through the Registrar of Voters Office (other than military and overseas voters). The deadline for a registrar of voters to receive a voted mail ballot is Nov. 5 by 4:30 p.m. (other than military and overseas voters).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.