THIRTY-THREE Ouachita Parish Schools students were honored earlier this month as Student of the Year. Several students received additional recognition for their accomplishments in portfolio. First-place winners and others also were recognized in the high school, middle school and elementary school divisions:

Elementary Schools:

1st place: Parker Todd (Drew)

2nd place: David Roach (Swartz)

Portfolio second place: Lukas DuPriest (Claiborne)

Portfolio third place: Amelia Fulmer (Central)

Other schools' Students of the Year: Kamryn Presnall (Boley), Preston Daigle (George Welch), Ja'Nyla West (Highland), Madison Bailey (Jack Hayes), Jenianne Chase (Kiroli), Korie Harris (Lakeshore), Yuri Cobb (Lenwil), Kinley Tidwell (Pinecrest), Cordasia Wyatt (Riser), Taylor Butler (Riverbend), Sanese Presley (Robinson), Teyanna Jones (Shady Grove), Abby Hemphill (Sterlington), Morgan Robinson (Swayze), and Colston Brandon (Woodlawn).

Middle Schools:

1st place: Jeremy Nelson (Ouachita Junior High)

Portfolio winner: Mollie Sims (Sterlington)

Other schools' Students of the Year: Lauren Watts (Calhoun), Jacob McCullars (East Ouachita), Julia Johnson (Good Hope), Harrison May (Pinecrest), Jayden Young (Richwood), Emily McLendon (Riser), Kirsty Frantom (West Ridge), Dylan Ross (Woodlawn).

High Schools:

1st place: Kaleb Nolan (West Ouachita)

Other schools' Students of the Year: Alaysha Wilson (Ouachita), Ja'Milyah Robinson (Richwood), Tucker Allen (Sterlington), and Megan Povirk (West Monroe).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.