After tying Ruston for another district title under head coach Wade Simoneaux, the West Monroe Rebels shared individual district honors with the Bearcats.

Representing the Rebs was senior Carson Jones, who drew player of the year honors for his play in the infield, performances on the mound in relief and consistency at the plate.

But he was far from the only Rebel honored in the district. Lane Little (pitcher), Case Roark (pitcher), Gage Breithaupt (first base), Chase DeJean (third base), Tom Biggs (designated hitter), Zach Martin (outfield) and Josh Pearson (outfield) joined Jones as first-team selections.

Charlie Norman (pitcher), Dylan Fine (pitcher), Cayden Pierce (outfield) and Reed Eason (utility) represented West Monroe on the second team.

Ouachita was well represented on both teams, as well.

Zach Vining (pitcher) was a first-team selection, along with Cody Wooley (catcher), Zach Shaw (outfield), Dakota Blackwell (utility) and Dada Jones (utility).

Jones led the team with a .389 batting average.

Representing the Lions on the second team were Cade Taylor (first base), Austin Pennington (outfield) and Cayle Wheeler (utility).

Award-winning sports writer for columns and features since joining the field in 2013. As the first-ever featured columnist of the month at Bleacher Report, Martin cut his teeth with online media before joining the newspaper business in 2014.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.