Early voting for the Aug. 15 municipal general election in Concordia Parish continues through Saturday, Aug. 8, with 147 in person votes and 200 mail ballots – 347 total -- counted through early Wednesday morning, according to Registrar of Voters Golda Ensminger.

The upcoming election will include runoffs for mayor and three aldermen in Ferriday as well as one parishwide issue, the renewal of a one-cent sales tax for schools.

Early voting began July 25 and extends through Aug. 8 from 8:30 a.m.-6 p.m.

Gene Allen and Rydell Turner, both former mayors, are in the runoff for the Ferriday mayoral post.

There are three runoff aldermen races.

District A pits Brandi Bacon against Shana “Pouncey” Skipper. Glenn Henderson did not seek reelection to the post.

The District B race is between former alderman Elijah “Stepper’s” Banks and Margaret J. Glasper. The incumbent in the race, Chryl Smith Lee, did not see re-election.

In District D, incumbent Andre J. Keys faces Patricia “Martin” Williams.

The one-cent school tax up for renewal generates an estimated $2.7 million annually.

According to the ballot, the term of the tax, if renewed for 10 years, begins January 1, 2021, “with sixty per cent (60%) of the net proceeds … to be used for support for curriculum improvement and for improving, purchasing and erecting school buildings and related facilities and for operating and maintaining schools and related facilities within the Parish, and the remaining forty per cent (40%) to be used to supplement the payment of salaries of public school teachers and other public school employees of the School Board, including the payment of unemployment compensation benefits and costs of retirement and insurance programs for active and retired School Board personnel.”

According to the Secretary of State’s office:

-- The deadline to request an absentee by mail ballot is Aug. 11 by 4:30 p.m. You can request an absentee by mail ballot online through the Voter Portal or in writing through your Registrar of Voters Office (other than military and overseas voters). -- The deadline for a registrar of voters to receive a voted mail ballot is Aug. 14 by 4:30 p.m. (other than military and overseas voters).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.