early voting.jpg

Concordia voters will go to the polls next month after previously scheduled election dates were postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Early voting begins Saturday.

The new election date for the municipal and presidential preference primary is Saturday, July 11, and Saturday, August 15, for the general election.

Early voting for the July 11 election will be held June 20-July 4, (excluding Sunday, June 21, and Sunday, June 28).

Hours for early voting at the Concordia Registrar of Voters Office are 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

“Because of Covid-19 and space available for six-foot distancing there will be fewer machines set up for voting, therefore more days of early voting to accommodate those who wish to do so,” said Registrar Golda Ensminger. “There will be numbered markers in the hallway outside the registrar officed for people to stand by in order to keep the six-foot distancing.

“Only 14 voters can be accommodated to wait in line at one time and security will help keep the order needed.

“My office personnel are looking forward to a good 13-day of early voting and hopeful everyone will do their part in keeping with the program of safety.”

The deadline to register to vote through the GeauxVote Online Registration System is June 20.

The deadline to request an absentee by mail ballot is July 7 by 4:30 p.m. You can request an absentee by mail ballot online through the Secretary of State’s Voter Portal or in writing through Concordia Registrar of Voters Office (other than military and overseas voters). The deadline for a registrar of voters to receive a voted mail ballot is July 10 by 4:30 p.m. (other than military and overseas voters).

Local candidates include:



“Lil” Wilbert Washington (D).

Josephine Washington (D) (incumbent).



Gene Allen (D).

Glenn Henderson (D).

Sherrie Jacobs McMahan (D) (incumbent).

Rydell Turner (D).

Alderman District A

Brandi Bacon (D).

Wayne Roberts (R).

Shana “Pouncey” Skipper (D).

Alderman District B

Elijah “Stepper” Banks (D).

Margaret J. Glasper (D).

Devonte “Tay” Schiele (NP).

Ahren Williams (D).

Alderman District C

Sharon Denise “Shanice” Goodman (D).

Sandra “Gail” Pryor (D) (incumbent).

Emma “Pupu” Skipper (D)

Alderman District D

Andre Keys (D) (incumbent).

Patricia “Martin” Williams (D).

Johnnie “Rip” Woodruff (D).

Alderman District E

Essie Green (D).

Gloria Lloyd (D) (incumbent).

David Turner (I).



Hyram Copeland (I).

Buz Craft (R) (incumbent).

Police Chief

Frank Duson Jr. (I).

Arthur K. Lewis (D), Vidalia.

Joey Merrill (I) (incumbent).

Chris Stricklin (NP).

Alderman District 1

Rosa Irving Demby (D).

Joseph “BoBo” McCoy (D).

Alderman District 2

Robert Gardner Jr. (D) (incumbent).

Raymond Murray (R).

Jamie Walsworth (R).

District 3 (3 to be elected)

Jon Betts (R) (incumbent).

Sabrina Doré (R), (incumbent).

Chris King (R).

Tommy Probst (R) (incumbent).

Brent Smith (R).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.