police jury.jpg

NINE CONCORDIA Parish police jurors began four-year terms Tuesday night during the first meeting of 2020. Seven jurors are newly elected and two – Joe Parker and Adam Probst -- are incumbents. Parker was elected president at the meeting and Probst vice-president. Jurors shown at the table from left are Willie Yearby, Scottie Whittington, Probst, Parker, Genesia Allen, Gary Neal, Collin Edwards, Brad Adams and Secretary-Treasurer Sandi Burley. Juror Maurice Bachus was absent. (Concordia Sentinel Photo)

Joe Parker was elected president and Adam Probst vice-president of the Concordia Parish Police Jury Tuesday night during the first meeting of 2020.

Both Parker, of District 1B, and Probst, of District 3A, are the only two incumbents returning for new four-year terms; the other seven are newly elected.

No other nominations were made for the posts.

Clerk of Court Clyde Ray Webber opened the meeting and then called for the election of officers. Once done, he turned the meeting over to Parker, who expressed his appreciation to other jurors for their support.

He said the Jury had several projects that needed to be completed during the next four years.

“This is not a one-man show,” Parker said, noting that all jurors “had to be on the same page” and “above board” in handling the parish’s business.

New jurors attended their first meeting were Willie Bill Yearby of District 2, Scottie Whittington of District 3B, Genesia Allen of District 4A, Gary Neal of District 4B, Collin Edwards of District 5A and Brad Adams of District 5B.

Maurice Bacchus of District 1A did not attend Monday’s meeting.

Sandi Burley was re-elected secretary-treasurer on a 7-1 vote. Allen cast the lone no vote after asking that the matter be tabled. She said she wanted to know more about Burley’s duties.

Parker praised Burley’s work.

As the thunder rumbled and the rain poured outside, Yearby and others attending the meeting asked several questions concerning parishwide drainage

Bill Beasley, who had chaired the parish’s drainage committee without compensation for years, said he wanted to meet with jurors and others interested in drainage in the next few days. He said he would outline the parish’s drainage situation and discuss the multi-million dollar Brushy Bayou Project designed to improve drainage.

He said he also has other ideas and suggestions for drainage improvements.

In other business, committee members were assigned for the following Jury committees:

Finance, Economic Development, and IT: Adam Probst (chair), Maurice Bachus, Brad Adams.

Courthouse, Hospital, Airport, Recreation and WaterwaysCollin Edwards (chair), Gary Neal, Scottie Whittington.

Personnel, Policy, Insurance, Taxes, and LicensesBrad Adams (chair), Adam Probst, Genesia Allen.

Public Works, Solid Waste, Water, Fire and SewerageGary Neal (chair), Willie Bill Yearby, Scottie Whittington.

Grants and Special ProjectsMaurice Bachus (chair), Adam Probst, Gary Neal.

Boards and CommitteesGenesia Allen (chair), Willie Bill Yearby, Collin Edwards.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.