Seven slots on the nine-member Concordia Parish Police Jury will be filled Saturday when voters go to the polls during the general election.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Incumbents Whest Shirley and Red Tiffee opted not to seek re-election, while incumbents Joe Parker and Adam Probst were re-elected to their posts without opposition. Two other incumbents, Jimmy Wilkinson and Jerry Beatty, were defeated during the primary election in October.

Incumbents Carey H. Cook, Jimmy Jernigan and Willie Dunbar are in runoffs this Saturday.

Three tax renewal propositions will also be on the ballot this weekend.

Candidates for the seven Police Jury positions to be decided Saturday include:

Police Juror District 1A

Maurice Bachus Sr., Independent.

Carey H. Cook, Democrat.

Police Juror District 2

Willie J. Dunbar, Democrat.

Willie “Bill” Yearby, Democrat.

Police Juror District 3B

Cornell Lewis, No Party.

Allen “Scottie” Whittington, Republican.

Police Juror District 4A

Genesia S. Allen, Democrat.

Curtis “Wrecker” Nelson, Republican.

Police Juror District 4B

Lana Hawkins, Democrat.

Gary Wayne Neal, Republican.

Police Juror District 5A

Collin Edwards, Independent.

Jimmy Jernigan, Democrat.

Police Juror District 5B

Brad Adams, Republican.

Darrell Brigman, No Party.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.