Played at St. Frederick High School, Monroe, La. 1April2022. Photo by TOM MORRIS/The Ouachita Citizen.

After winning District 2-1A, the St. Frederick Warriors swept top district honors.

Thomas Marsala was named MVP of the district, while Garrett Taylor collected pitcher of the year honors and Jim Rushworth was tabbed as coach of the year.

Ouachita Christian placed a league-high eight players on the first team.

The full District 2-1A squad follows:

MVP: Thomas Marsala, St. Frederick

Pitcher of the Year: Garrett Taylor, St. Frederick

First Team

Pitcher Noah Neal, St. Frederick

Pitcher Carter Gates, OCS

Pitcher Preston Higgins, Delta Charter

Pitcher Karson Trichel, OCS

Pitcher Jacob Bareswill, OCS

Catcher Zach White, OCS

Catcher Lane Thomas, Cedar Creek

Infielder Eli Carr, St. Frederick

Infielder Cole Parker, OCS

Infielder Tanner Duff, Oak Grove

Infielder Tucker Stutts, OCS

Infielder Seth Ray, Oak Grove

Outfielder Spencer Foster, Oak Grove

Outfielder Landon Graves, OCS

Outfielder Jacob Lilley, OCS

Outfielder Ladd Thompson, Cedar Creek

Utility Jordan Vail, Cedar Creek

Utility William Patrick, St. Frederick

Utility Aiden Melna, St. Frederick

Utility Peyton Roberts, Delta Charter

Utility Jack Holbrook, River Oaks

Second Team

Pitcher Brady Wade, Cedar Creek

Pitcher Ethan Keith, Delta Charter

Pitcher Max Brister, Cedar Creek

Pitcher Drew Webb, River Oaks

Pitcher Anthony Jackson, St. Frederick

Catcher Will Wiley, Delta Charter

Catcher Jack Skipper, River Oaks

Infielder Jackson Bradley, Oak Grove

Infielder Kyle Whatley, Delta Charter

Infielder Chase McGraw, Delta Charter

Infielder Peyton Odom, River Oaks

Infielder Eli Odom, River Oaks

Outfielder Garrett Ajlani, St. Frederick

Outfielder Brennan McCarthy, St. Frederick

Outfielder Noah Lovelady, OCS

Outfielder Kaleb Proctor, Oak Grove

Outfielder Luke Simmons, Oak Grove

Designated Hitter Dedric Candler, Delhi

Designated Grayson Smalling, OCS

Utility Christopher Washington, Delhi

Utility Edward Williams, Delhi

Utility Caden McCarthy, Oak Grove

Utility Parks McConnell, Cedar Creek

Utility Davis Cooper, Delta Charter

Honorable Mention — James Maryonne (St. Frederick), Davis Dansby (St. Frederick), Gunter Tannehill (St. Frederick), Barham White (OCS), Carson McKoin (OCS), Zane Morgan (OCS), Jett Hudnall (OCS), John Center O’Neal (Oak Grove), Kaine Foreman (Oak Grove), Lawson Reyes (Delta Charter), Gunner Smith (Delta Charter), Blake Wade (Cedar Creek), Lawson Lillo (Cedar Creek), Colin Pohlman (River Oaks), Darrius Candler (Delhi), Ethan Carter (Delhi), James Boston (Delhi) and DeJamaricon Sanders (Delhi)

Award-winning sports writer for columns and features since joining the field in 2013. As the first-ever featured columnist of the month at Bleacher Report, Martin cut his teeth with online media before joining the newspaper business in 2014.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.